Mashed Parsnips w/ Cucumber Oolong Tea

August 9, 2009 at 6:10 PM 3 comments

P1010752

P1010733

Everyone who knows me, knows that I love to explore New York one bite at a time.  Today after a vigorous work out at the gym, I was able to resist a donut from The Doughnut Plant located in the Lower East Side.  Their donuts are truly amazing.  Still nothing beats Krispy Kreme’s glazed donuts coming fresh off the conveyor belt, but these do come in second best.  I opted for the iced organic coffee.  There was a hint of chickory flavor in the coffee, which made it have a nice depth of flavor.  Being a competitor amongst co-workers on a 2 month long fitness challenge, I have so far lost a couple of pounds.  I was surprised only because honestly, I haven’t been really been trying.  The winner who loses the most weight will receive a cash prize.  My ideal weight is to drop down one pant size.  The last time I was a size 8 was in high school.  My only concern with the weight loss challenge is that I have more muscle than some of my competitors, which means even though I might be down one pant size, I don’t think the number in pounds will be as dramatic for me.  The last time we weighed in, my female cometitors were either 10 pounds heavier than I was or they were 20 pounds lighter, but they were also 2 or 3 pant sizes bigger.  Crazy how measurements work.  We’ll see how this competition pans out.

On another note, I wanted to write about my recent revelation in regards to going to cooking school.  For years, I’ve always told everyone my main fear about being a chef.  It was that I didn’t want to get tired of doing what I love.  The fear was that if I didn’t want to cook at home because I cooked as a profession, would be the end of the world.  And although, I overcame this fear not too long ago, David Chang confirmed that it was okay to not have the urge to cook at home because it was a profession.   In the New York Times article, he talked about not wanting do anything on his days off, which means ordering take out and catching up on sports.  I realized David and I are a lot alike.  I don’t know what I would say if I ever ran into him except, “Hey, I think you’re the male version of me”.

This week’s recipes come from a blog that I subscribed to awhile back and unfortunately, can’t seem to find it among 50 other food blogs I read on a weekly basis.  If I find it at some point, I’ll be sure to link it to this entry.  I’ve always wondered what parsnips tasted like, so I figured this recipe was a great way to celebrate all its flavors and to incorporate into the the fitness challenge.  There are some recipes that combine potatos which I’m sure is a great addition.  The cucumber oolong tea came from being inspired at various spas that serve chilled cucumber water.  By far, this has got to be the most light and refreshing drinks for the summer.

Mashed Parsnips

Ingredients:

6 parsnips

pot of water

salt

1 tbs butter

Peel and dice parsnips into 1 inch chunks.  Boil in water for at least minutes or until tender.  Drain well.  Mash parsnips with butter and salt to taste.

Cucumber Oolong Tea

Cut hot house cucumbers into thin slices.  Brew oolong tea and wait until cooled.  Add ice and a couple slices of cucumber into chilled drink.

Entry filed under: Appetizers, Beverages (non-alcoholic), Gluten-Free, Side Dishes, Tofu/Vegetables. Tags: .

Asian Greek Pasta Homemade Ratatouille over Rice

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lala blossoms  |  August 9, 2009 at 6:20 PM

    what does parsnip taste like?

    Reply
    • 2. Jane Nguyen  |  August 9, 2009 at 6:24 PM

      It’s sort of reminds me of a celery root/rutabaga/turnip.

      Reply
  • 3. zuzupetals  |  August 9, 2009 at 6:24 PM

    How lovely! I wonder how this tea would be iced…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RecipeOfTheWeek

Food
Life
Culture
Inspiration

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

