Strawberry Breakfast Parfait

April 18, 2009 at 11:27 PM 1 comment

p1000844

p1000851

Now that Spring has officially arrived, I’ve been wanting to cut down on some calories in order to get in shape for the summer. Not only do I want to slash the fat, but I want to really reduce my sugar intake. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth when it comes to candies and decadent desserts, but I love fruit.  And certain fruits contain a lot of sugar, such as apples and mangos.  Strawberries, blueberries, cranberries, and raspberries are lower in sugar, and packed with antioxidants compared to other fruits.  

I love my warm, comforting breakfast sandwiches and Malt-O-Meals on mornings when its cold and snowy outside, but now that it’s getting warmer, I’m craving something more refreshing and light.  This has to be one of my favorite quick recipes for Spring/Summer.

Ingredients:

1 cup non-fat plain yogurt (opt out of vanilla flavor due to high sugar content)

2 tsp honey

1/2 cup granola of your choice

1 1/2 cup strawberries (sliced)

 

Directions:

In a large cup or glass,  layer all ingredients in any order as you please, but only use half measurements for each layer.  It’s that easy!  Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Breakfast.

Singapore Curry Noodles Asian Lettuce Wraps

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  April 20, 2009 at 7:43 PM

    Hi nice blog 🙂 I can see a lot of effort has been put in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RecipeOfTheWeek

Food
Life
Culture
Inspiration

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


